To Get Inked or Not to Get Inked?



I’ve said it time and again, if you are thinking of getting some random tattoo with a dragon or an “ambigram” or a Polynesian-tribal tattoo just to look cool –don’t. It will just look stupid on you.
Okay, I’m no tattoo expert but as somebody who’s always wanted a tattoo since I was fourteen years old and have done it acouple of times, if you’re going to put something permanent on your skin, make sure that it’s for something and that you will never ever regret it – oh, and make sure it’s safe. You will never look cool if you get infected with that tattoo!

If you’re a kid and reading this, DO NOT GET A TATTOO. Now, if you’re really a kid (not just in terms of your brain capacity), I’m sure that once an adult tells you not to get a tattoo, you’ll think – “Hell, I’m gonna get that!” which is just plain stupid. I had my very first tattoo at age 26 and I asked my mom if can get one like 11 years before I had it (It wasn’t a yes or no but a hmmm) I’m sure she wouldn’t remember but at the very least I asked if I can get one.
Okay, let’s go back to the topic. If you really, really, really want to get a tattoo, sure of your design and doing it all for the right reasons, get it at a “legal age”. Now, when I mentioned legal age, that has many factors. One of the deciding factors would be if you’re not in school anymore (do not get out of school because you want to get a tattoo – again, that is stupid). I meant not while you’re in high school. Come on, there are a lot of things that will happen to you in the future which may definitely affect your life if you get a tattoo at a very young age, culture wise among many other factors. Some companies will not even accept you even if you’re the best person out there because you have a tattoo. And let’s face it, even if a tattoo for you is cool, for other’s it just looks like your defacing your skin, damaging what God has given you, blah, blah, blah while for others, it just looks like you’ve been to prison some time in your life.

If you’re going to get a tattoo, make sure that you are decided on the design and do not let anybody sway your decision of what you want it to look like. Make sure that the design means something to you and not because a “dragon” or the “face of a devil” will make you look cool (perhaps a butterfly? – Oh, no way. Unless that would of course mean something to you). I have a friend who wanted a butterfly for a tattoo and I laughed at her decision which made her get another design. Realizing what I have done, I should have let her have her way because I knew that the butterfly, eventhough for me, it’s too girly, is really for her. It means something to her. Note to my friend, you know who you are and I’m sorry. Now let’s go get that tattoo of yours covered.

Okay, now, if you’re at the right age and you’re finally sure of your design, make sure that you know where you want that tattoo placed. If your folks, religion, culture and job are okay with it, then you can put it anywhere you want. Yes, even on your neck. But please, please, not on your face! However, if just one of the above mentioned (your folks, religion, culture and job) will criticize you for it or get a heart attack (particularly your parents) once you’ve got it, choose a more discreet body part – like the lower back, upper arms, etc. You get my drift.


-Well, unless your Mike Tyson…

Also, make sure that you get an accredited, clean and safe tattoo artist. It doesn’t matter whether he’s/she’s tattooed popular celebrities or not. What matters is you research on the work done by your artist, if he/she is good or not and safe of course. Also, it would be better if you know people he/she has done work with and looks great. Personally, I want to make sure that my artist is clean – meaning I will not get infected with anything when I get a tattoo.

Lastly, before you get a tattoo, seek the opinion of fellow friends whom had a tattoo before you. There might be some additional tricks or information you may want to know before you get one. Know the dos and don’ts before, during and after your tattoo. It’s just not the ink on your skin that’s important. Make sure you know everything else there is you need to know.

I almost forgot! Yes, it will definitely hurt! But then you’re decided right?

~ by akasha824 on February 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
