Japan Tsunami Tragedy 2011

At the time that when it happened, I didn’t even know about it. I would have died with the thousands if I lived there and I felt so ignorant about it. When it happened, all I thought was how I could get enough sleep and how I would make it on time that night for the dinner I scheduled with my friends. I didn’t occur to me that somewhere in Asia, a country was in tragedy. (- In my defense, with my nature of work, I wouldn’t have time to watch TV.)

Cars, ships and buildings were swept away by a wall of water after the 8.9-magnitude tremor, which struck about 400km (250 miles) north-east of Tokyo.
A state of emergency has been declared at a nuclear power plant, where pressure has exceeded normal levels.

Officials say 350 people are dead (to date) and about 10,000 missing, but it is feared the final death toll will be much higher.

My heart goes out to all of those who were affected by this tragedy. Not just the ones who were actually in Japan when this happened, but also to those who have loved ones there.
I have only seen the videos hours ago. One of the most terrible things I have witnessed in my life. I am not Japanese but I felt the fear and the loss they have felt.
I do not personally know anybody who lives in Japan but it pains me to know that the people who were affected by this great tsunami have families, friends and lives. Although this is an immense tragedy for one of the richest countries in the world, I feel lucky that it did not happen in my home country- and I hope it never will. Look at what it did to Japan; just imagine what it will do to a third world country like the Philippines. No, I’d rather not think about it.

I have seen a lot of comments regarding the Tsunami and the earthquake. Some said it’s “the wrath of God”. Some said that “the world is coming to an end”. Others mentioned “tectonic plates are moving, etc.” and it’s the “2012 blah blah blahs”. Some even thought, “I wonder how Maria Osawa is doing?” (Right, funny). A lot of people have opinions about what happened. But what about, “I’m just glad I’m alive”?

When tragedies like this occur, I just tell myself that it all happens for a reason. If the person who is reading this, was affected by the earthquake or the tsunami in Japan or even if you just know someone there, tell yourself that everything happens for a reason. Honestly, it will help you cope with all that has happened. That mantra has helped me in a lot of ways.

I’m not sure when Japan will recover from this calamity but I’m sure they will.

Here is an article I got from Google: http://www.npr.org/2010/12/21/132242941/strong-earthquake-near-japan-triggers-tsunami-warning

~ by akasha824 on March 14, 2011.

One Response to “Japan Tsunami Tragedy 2011”

  1. Practically all i’ll express would be that this is a awful circumstance that may come with world-wide outcomes.

Leave a Reply

 
