I’m Going to Miss Starbucks

latte artstarbucksStarbucks

Right. I know there’s a Starbucks at every corner but what I meant was the twice a week ritual I had with one of my bestfriends. Just when the partners were starting to call us “regulars” and they already recognize us we had to stop the ritual (i’d rather not expound on that)

Joy orders the café-latte and I, the cappuccino. Then there are times when we want something else, like iced mocha for her and green tea frap for me. When we get hungry we could easily order for a bagel, a doughnut or a slice of cake. I’m going to miss all of that.

I’m still going to Starbucks of course. Like duh! But it won’t be the same because it won’t be the same ritual as I had with her.

We spent hours in our sofa seats at the corner, isolated from the rest of the customers for hours talking about the guys who left us, the guys we left, our new crushes, about Rob Pattinson or Edward (yes, the actor and the vampire), Jack from Lost or Simon Baker, about life and about her mom’s illness (I hope she gets well). Basically about everything, again, at random, just whatever hits our minds. That’s the good things about having girlfriends, you can talk about nonsense yet it still makes sense.

I’m going to miss that maroon-brown couch with those armrests that sometimes I feel like falling asleep into even though I just downed an entire cup of tall brewed coffee. And yes, I’m also going to miss the air conditioner at the corner that makes me say, most of the time – “I want to go, it’s not fun here anymore” (insert me here glancing at the air condition on full blast instead of just telling the guard or the crew to shut it off).

Bottom line, I’m going to miss the Starbucks ritual. Particularly the one at SM Taytay. We even called the other regulars there (on our own secretive way) as classmates *sigh. Anyway, I’ll start another one elsewhere.

I heart coffee.

~ by akasha824 on October 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
