The Truth About Forever book review by Sarah Dessen

The Truth About Forever

The truth about forever is an inspiring teen novel about learning to put your “heart in your hand” and extending them to someone. Just putting it out there unsure if that someone would reach to it and take it as his own (okay, something like that).

Macy’s dad died in front of her and she somehow felt responsible for it. She kept it to herself and all her feelings about it inside. Afraid that if she’d let anybody else into her heart, she would look weak or vulnerable to that person. Also, at first she was afraid of change. She had a super smart, perfect (so to speak) boyfriend named Jason who went to Brain camp. It was the first time in a year and two months they’d be apart for a long time, with the long stretch of summer ahead of her. She took a job at Wish Catering and discovered the endless possibilities of the unknown and the “unplanned” the night her boyfriend emailed her that they needed a break (just because he thought she was too clingy because she said “I love you” to him). In Wish Catering, she found real friends that showed her to open up to life, not to be uptight and accept thing as they come. She also meets Wes, a guy who helps her overcome her guilt for feeling that she had let her father down and not being to save him from dying. In addition, she finds out that she has a lot of things in common with him. In the process she falls for him, unknowing that Wes is also falling for her hard but couldn’t quite bring himself to it because he himself is on a break from his relationship. Both on hold and not being able to tell each other how they feel. Until, Jason comes back and wants to take Macy back. – yay! I made that synopsis myslef! So proud of myself! Haha!

I seriously had a stiff back from reading it out as an e book for five hours straight (like what I mostly do when reading)! Anyway, this one beats Just Listen off my number one chart. Mostly because how Macy is described in the story. She’s afraid to put her feelings out there for the fear (redundant) of being vulnerable like so many of us. Young and old alike. Can you pinpoint to me a person who isn’t afraid to tell what she really feels? Plus there’s the acceptance factor. To accept things as they are, to accept that some things are not meant to be repaired that somehow they still have a purpose or reason even when they’re broken or called “junk”. And finally, there’s the dashing, prince charming, somewhat mysterious, sort-of tortured artist slash bad boy looking Wes. Sa-woon! (That is meant as “swoon” but when it’s for Wes, its Sa-woon! – as mentioned in the book) He is mentioned in the book as utterly gorgeous (chiseled features and all) and girls of all ages can’t help but stare, all googly eyes at him because of his presence. I wonder if he’s a part of the Cullen family because he reminded me of Edward Cullen himself—oh wait, that’s another book. Anyway, although he is all that good looking, he is oblivious to it, which is all the more *sigh* why girls would fall in love with him when reading the book.

Another toast to you Miss Sarah Dessen! The Truth About Forever gets nine stars out of ten! 🙂

Here is a part of the book where Wes was described in Macy’s words:
Now that he was right in front of me, I could see that he was tall and had brown hair that was a little bit too long. He was also strikingly handsome, with the sort of sculpted cheekbones and angular features that you couldn’t help but notice, even if you did have a boyfriend. To me he said, “You okay?”
I nodded. My heart was still racing, but I was recovering.

I love the entire story itself so instead of picking up a favorite part of it to share to you readers, I picked out a part in random (somewhat). Here it is:
Wes considered this for a second, as I noted at least six different girls around the deck checking him out. As much as I was getting used to this happening whenever I was with him, it was still a little unnerving. I’d lost count of how many dirty looks I’d gotten just by sitting next to him. We’re not like that, I wanted to say to the girls who stared at me, slit-eyed, their eyes following me whenever I went to the bathroom or to find Kristy, waiting for me to be far enough away to move in. By now, though, I could spot who was and wasn’t his type a mile off. The girl in the tight black dress and red lipstick, leaning against the keg? Nope. The one in the denim skirt and black T with the tan? Maybe. The one who kept licking her lips? Ugh. No. No. No.
“Let’s say Jason was here,” he said now. “What would he be doing?”
I considered this. “Probably complaining about the smoke,” I said, “and getting very concerned about whether all these cans are going to be properly recycled. What about Becky?”
He thought for a second, pulling a hand through his hair. In the dining room, I could hear Kristy laughing loudly. “Passed out someplace. Or behind the bushes sneaking a smoke that she’d deny to me later.”
“Ah,” I said.
“Ah.”
The girl in the tight black dress was passing by us now, eyeing Wes and walking entirely too slowly.
“Hi,” she said, and he nodded at her but didn’t reply. Knew it, I thought.
“Honestly,” I said.
“What?”
“Come on. You have to admit it’s sort of ridiculous.”
“What is?”
Now that I had to define it, I found myself struggling for the right words. “You know,” I said, then figured Kristy had really summed it up best. “The sa-woon.”
“The what?”
“Wes, come on,” I said. “Are you seriously not aware of how girls stare at you?”
He rolled his eyes, leaning back on his palms. “Let’s get back to the idea of you being perfect.”
“Seriously. What’s it like?”
“Being perfect? I wouldn’t know.”
“Not being perfect.” I sighed. “Being…”
As I tried to come up with something, he flicked a bug off his arm.
“… gorgeous,” I finished. Two weeks earlier, this would have mortified me: I could just see myself bursting into flames from the shame. But now, I only felt a slight twinge as I took another sip of my beer and waited for him to answer.
“Again,” he said, as the parking lot girls passed by, eyeing both of us, “I wouldn’t know. You tell me.”
“Again,” he said, as the parking lot girls passed by, eyeing both of us, “I wouldn’t know. You tell me.”
“Donneven,” I said, in my best Monica imitation, and he laughed. “We’re not talking about me.”
“We could be,” he said, as I watched Bert take note of a group of what looked like ninth graders who had just come into the living room.
“I’m not gorgeous,” I said.
“Sure you are.”
I just shook my head, knowing this was him evading the question. “You,” I said, “have this whole tall, dark stranger thing going on. Not to mention the tortured artist bit.”
“Bit?”
“You know what I mean.”
He shook his head, clearly discounting this description. “And you,” he said, “have that whole blonde, cool and collected, perfect smart girl thing going on.”
“You’re the boy all the girls want to rebel with,” I said.
“You,” he replied, “are the unattainable girl in homeroom who never gives a guy the time of day.”

The first time I read it, I felt like I was about to burst to flames myself. Hahaha! I’m sa-woon Wes! Thank you Miss Sarah Dessen for creating this great novel.

~ by akasha824 on July 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
