Just Listen by Sarah Dessen book review

Okay, I thought that I would never be able to write a sensible review for this book due to my being busy writing a book and finding an agent and a publisher for my own writing. Anyway, here it is:

Last year, Annabel was “the girl who has everything”—at least that’s the part she played in the television commercial for Kopf’s Department Store. This year, she’s the girl who has nothing: no best friend because mean-but-exciting Sophie dropped her, no peace at home since her older sister became anorexic, and no one to sit with at lunch. Until she meets Owen Armstrong. Tall, dark, and music-obsessed, Owen is a reformed bad boy with a commitment to truth-telling. With Owen’s help, maybe Annabel can face what happened the night she and Sophie stopped being friends.

Because of this book Sarah Dessen has become an instant hit in my heart. All of my friends know that I am a true fanatic of the twilight series therefore making me a fan of Stephanie Meyer as well. They are two different authors with different styles of writing but I suddenly found myself drawn to Just Listen.

Just Listen teaches teens on how to deal with family issues and being ostracized. I must say that I undeniably loved Owen Armstrong’s personality (the only fictional character that was successful enough to tear me away from ogling Edward Cullen-but I still love Edward though). Anyway, if I was seventeen again, I would definitely fall for Owen. It’s not his looks or his size that makes him stand out of the crowd for that matter, it’s his outstanding quality to tell the truth and be sincere about it.

It’s a refreshing take on things. Especially now, in the society of teens where looking good and being popular is all that they care about (well mostly and I’m not saying all teens- don’t hate me). These days’ people talk aloud for the reason that they just want to be heard. For people to hear out what they want people to hear. But the thing is, not everything that comes out of our mouths are the things we actually talk about. Sometimes we hold back so we won’t hurt people with the truth, but think about this: Would you rather hurt someone by lying to them or by telling them the truth? Sometimes the truth can surprise us in an unimaginable way. That is what Just Listen is all about.

Here’s an excerpt from the book:
He was downshifting, the engine grinding as we slowed to take a corner. “What isn’t?” he
said.
“What you heard about me.”
“I haven’t heard anything about you.”
“Yeah, right,” I said.
“I haven’t,” Owen said. “I’d tell you if I had.”
“Really.”
“Yeah,” he said. I must have looked doubtful at this, because he added, “I don’t lie.”
“You don’t lie,” I repeated.
“That’s what I said.”
“Ever.”
“Nope.”
Sure you don’t, Ithought. “Well,” I said. “That’s a good policy. If you can stick to it.”
“I don’t have a choice,” he replied. “Holding stuff in doesn’t really work for me. Learned
that the hard way.”
I had a flash of Ronnie Waterman going down in the parking lot, his head bouncing off
the gravel. “So you’re always honest,” I said.
“Aren’t you?”
“No,” I told him. This came so easily, so quickly, it should have surprised me. But for
some reason, it didn’t. “I’m not.”
“Well,” he said as we approached another stop sign, “that’s good to know, I guess.”
“I’m not saying I’m a liar,” I told him. He raised his eyebrows. “That’s not how I meant it,
anyway.”
“How’d you mean it, then?”
I was digging myself a hole here, and I knew it. But still, I tried to explain myself. “It’s
just… I don’t always say what I feel.”
“Why not?”
“Because the truth sometimes hurts,” I said.
“Yeah,” he said. “So do lies, though.”

I downloaded the e book and I can’t wait for it to turn into a movie, if ever it does. I can’t wait how they would cast the Annabel character and especially Owen-the huge dark guy. Although, I must say that it won’ be a hit like how Twilight has been or still is. It’s a profound book telling that if we just really listen, we’ll get to hear what our hearts are really telling us. Hat’s down to you Miss Sarah Dessen, you nailed it!

Eight and a half stars out of ten 😉

P.S. I have a book that I just finished last April. It’s a fictional one about love through reincarnation, if you’re interested, I can send you the e-book, just PM me.

~ by akasha824 on June 16, 2009.

3 Responses to “Just Listen by Sarah Dessen book review”

  1. You should read dreamland and Lock and key as well:) can i have a copy of your book too? thanks!

  2. I really loved Just Listen too. I would love to read your book can you please send it to me. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
